A Stage of Life

StageofLife

After all the many years I’ve spent here in Lourdes School, all I could say is it truly has been what I call the “other” home; the second place where I felt I belong, where I grew up, and most importantly, it is the place I consider where I learned the most. In fact, this beloved school of mine had not just only left me new discoveries and interests, but also it left me with one of the most surprising realizations about life. Sometimes I tell myself, I’m very grateful that I belong in this school, other than that, I also ask myself if whether or not I’m just lucky to be in such a simple yet very worthy place. Its greatness, and beauty can easily be compared to that of my loving and caring parents, and although, not all the time I experienced joy and happiness, I consider this place very comfortable at first, and later, little by little I realized that this place introduced me towards reality, which is very good for my part. Truly, I can only say, all that is part of this school has taught me how to grow, how to live, and how to love.

If I were to be asked about one of the most unforgettable things I learned from this school, I can tell a lot about its values. I’m not only talking about the values that had been thought to us by our CL teachers but also about the values, the ones in which I considered real; something that just don’t simply  come out from a teachers’ tongue. You might be wondering what I’m trying to say, but all these values actually came from even with the simplest action done by every student, employee, and administrator inside this school.

First of all, I am proud in being part of the PEB just this year. I became more aware of my own and my fellow staffers’ capabilities and talents. Everyone turned out to be my inspiration, and with that, I also became more motivated. I consider every work in this club as one of my priorities, hoping that it would lead in the development of my personality. I used to be both a slacker and a freeloader most especially at home, and because of that, I always ended up wasting my time every day. I often get distracted by so many things in a way I can’t easily get my hands off with material things and other “unimportant stuff.” To make matters worse, my parents would even get disappointed. Knowing that I’m the panganay, I felt that as I grew older, I’ve become a little less responsible unlike my childhood days where I am more focused when it comes to my skills and talents. At least, in PEB, every time I have the opportunity to work as a cartoonist just helps me bring back those good memories; the feeling of being acknowledged by my parents after seeing me working productively with my drawings and cartoons. So when I think about my parents and their concern, I also think about PEB, about the way it reminded me towards my real character.

I would also never forget my experience to be part of the stage play called “Liwanag”.  For a shy person like me who was able to stand, sing, perform onstage in front of the audience, I thought I’ve reached the peak and so I felt things would just remain the same. But I realize that this is only a single achievement that won’t really satisfy for the rest of my life. I have also come to the point that the sound of the applause coming from the audience will also stop, but that doesn’t mean that I should stop as well. After all, I found out that the most wonderful thing you can ever do in life is to inspire yourself through your efforts. A lot of us might  not be probably aware, but it is actually us, who create our own fulfillment. Of course, we cannot simply do things only by ourselves. How could I not forget the people who gave me the trust and moral support? It is also through them that I continue to trust myself and I was able to somehow gain confidence. There is no doubt that they are the ones who have contributed in my potential. “I just can’t do it without them,” that’s all I could say.

When it comes to my best experiences and learning, nothing really beats our SAP and recollection activities. The reason why I love all these is that it keeps me reminding myself how lucky I am as a person. I  learned not to take good things for granted, not to judge, and rather respect, and continue to be responsible. It’s just wonderful to think that all these came to me just because of the effort of every teacher, employee, administrator, and not forgetting our dear rector who, not only made things happen for the sake of their job, but most especially, for our well-being as young people who prepare themselves towards true maturity.

Speaking of all employees and administrators in this school, lastly, I just want everyone to know that you’ve help each other in molding me since I first step inside this school 10 years ago. I may have not have the chance to meet some of you, but I still consider everyone as a family. Thanks to the Lourdesian attitude of pagmamano, for it has been also easy for us to express our gratitude with every one’s presence inside the school. Other than that, of course I wouldn’t forget the extra efforts done by some teachers, as well as the kuyas (maintenance), who have really made me proud and continue to be inspired. I received hugs, kisses, and so many great stories; and every time I receive this from every one of you, it truly make me happy in spite what others think about me.

There are more stories out there, and I’m pretty sure that I’ve missed some. I mentioned all this things not out of pride, but something I want you all to know that all these things are just “normal” for a fourth year student like me. That is also my realization that, unfortunately, I’m not a child anymore. I must learn how to offer and give something to others. I believe I was somehow successful early at my stage in life, knowing that, yes, people will recognize me that I am a Lourdesian; I continue to surprise people out of my will, and my good actions, the same way as how I put an effort to give something for the school not only for the remaining days of my stay, but as well as through my entire life.

Leave a comment